Meet and Greet

November 22, 2017

We sit down for a chat with Neil Donohoe, one of our mobility consultants, who gives some insight into his life in and out of the company.

Tell us a bit about yourself.

I live in Cockermouth in Cumbria with my wife Helen and three children – Jack (seven), Lottie (five) and Hamish (three). Jack is disabled and has his very own Allied Mobility wheelchair accessible vehicle (WAV). Lottie is just finishing her first reception year at school. Hamish is always on the go. I was brought up in Glasgow but moved to Cumbria 12 years ago. I visit our customers at home to demonstrate our WAVs and help them find the best option for them.

How long have you been part of Allied Mobility?

Nearly 10 years.

What are the biggest challenges?

Probably the same as all the drivers and mobile teams in Allied – traffic jams, bad weather, road closures and miles of average speed cameras!

Favourite thing to do outside of work?

I love mountain biking and walking in the fells although with three small children I don’t get to do as much as I used to. Weekends at the moment are spent with balance bikes in the local park!

Top things on you bucket list?

I’d like to do the North Coast 500 in the next couple of years because there are still parts of Scotland I haven’t seen.

Favourite place?

Lake District or Aviemore.

Favourite Food?

Italian.

Goals for 2017?

Every year we try to raise money for a charity called www.josephsgoal.org which is set up to raise awareness and fund research into NKH, which is the horrible condition our little boy suffers from. So if anyone has any ideas?

Got a view? Let us know what you think